Tales of Maj’Eyal – Infinite Dungeon Guide

A brief guide to the infinite dungeon.

Guide to Infinite Dungeon

Progressing Through the Dungeon

The infinite dungeon is, as the name suggest, a dungeon that never ends. In general it is much more dangerous than the main campaigns, mainly due to the fact that you wont get multiple T1 areas so initial levelling and equipment gain is hard.

Elemental wizards appear from lvl 1, they are squishy but can 1 shot you from distance for the first few levels so are very dangerous, especially as most areas are unlit so you may not even see them.

Each level has 2 exits down and none up, and can contain special exits to things like damp cave or the bearscape. after a few levels you start to get stair bosses on the exits. Stair bosses are usually the most dangerous thing on the level.


Quality can initially be better than AoA, not uncommon to get tier 5 items on first level. quantity is worse and shops are unreliable as most levels dont have an AAA and if they do it may not sell what you need.


Leveling to 50

Mostly the same as AoA, maybe slightly more empasis on vision/telepathy skills due to nearly everything being unlit.

Leveling after 50

You will only get 1 stat point per level, 1 class points every 2 levels and 1 generic point every 3 that is not a multiple of 2. Every 10 levels the max talent cap increases. Due to the lower reward from leveling after 50 quest become far more important. Especially generic points become very rare only getting a couple every 10 levels. Stats get recapped at 100, so after you hit 100 for every stat then stat point rewards from leveling/quest become useless.

Dungeon Levels

Most levels are unlit. There are usually 2 stairs down which have a description which will tell you the tile set the next level will use and the overall shape of the level.

  • Geometric = concentric circles – no vaults.
  • Wilderness = random.
  • Constructed = narrow grid corridors with large rooms, some rooms are lit.
  • Excavated = mixture of narrow corridors and small rooms.
  • Settled = open with small rooms.
  • Subsided = narrow corridors with large round areas.
  • Network of corridors = corridors only but can be 1-4 width – no vaults, horizontal and vertical can have different widths.
  • Cavern = wide random corridors.

Empty areas have no doors, other wise the terrain type just changes the tile set used. Areas with vaults are useful if you are still hunting for equipment, areas without vaults are generally easier for quest.



  • Exterminator = kill all foes.
  • Rush hour = leave level before time runs out (one exit revealed but might not be closest).
  • Near sighted = sight capped at 3 (but telepathy still works).
  • Pacifist = leave level without killing anything (two rewards).
  • Dream hunter = kill a dreaming horror.
  • Multiplicity = wait until time runs out then leave level, all foes can multiply.
  • Mirror match = kill your mirror clone.
  • Head hunter = kill 4 named demons without killing >=elite.

Note: several of the quest can bug out, typically seems to happen if you get a temporal clone or inner demon, essentially anything that duplicates you.

Quest rewards

  • Greater ego item, mostly useless.
  • +3 stat points.
  • +1 class point.
  • +1 generic point.
  • +1 category point.
  • +1 prodigy point (very rare).
Egor Opleuha
About Egor Opleuha 7097 Articles
Egor Opleuha, also known as Juzzzie, is the Editor-in-Chief of Gameplay Tips. He is a writer with more than 12 years of experience in writing and editing online content. His favorite game was and still is the third part of the legendary Heroes of Might and Magic saga. He prefers to spend all his free time playing retro games and new indie games.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.